About the Festival

Sept 25th – Oct 18th 2020

Réamhrá | Introduction

Over the past 20 years, the Donegal Bay and Blue Stacks Festival has supported artists and engaged communities throughout South and South West Donegal with the best of theatre, music of all kinds, arts for young folk, visual arts, crafts, spectacle and literary events. This year, we had big ideas for a grand 20th birthday celebration but, like everyone else, we have had to temper our ambition and adapt to the ongoing Covid 19 situation and the challanges it has placed before us.

We cannot, unfortunately, host a Carnival Parade this year, and neither have we access to that rich network of parish halls and other community facilities which have hosted so many memorable festival concerts, plays and schools shows, over the years.

But we still very much have a festival this autumn. Our partner artists and venues have come together to create a blend of live and online events that will showcase newly created work, give fresh platforms to old favourites and provide new ways for our communities to access and enjoy the best of arts and entertainment, as the evenings draw in.  

In that respect, we would like to express our sincere thanks and appreciation to the following –

Ailis McIntyre, Michael Daly, Abbey Arts and Cultural Centre, Ballyshannon. Conor Malone, Balor Arts Centre, Ballybofey. Maura Logue, Dark Daughter Productions. Emer Keon, Erne Enterprise Development Company Ltd. Denise Blake, Literary Programme Curator. Margaret Hannon. Kate O’Callaghan, Seamus Devenny. Victor Yelamo. Patricia McBride, An Grianán Theatre. Michael and Conor Murray. Deborah Cunningham, Mountcharles Opera Festival. Keith Mannion, Patsy O’Kane, Treehouse. Roseanne Lynch, Darn Skippy. John Travers, Ballyshannon Drama Society. Kieran Quinn, Hillary Scanlan, Balor Rep Theatre Company. Brian Walsh. Christian Carbin, Art Kavanagh, Donegal Drama Circle. Craobh Phil Rooney Comhaltas Cheoltóirí Éireann. Caoimhín MacAoidh.

Frances Friel, Donegal County Council Communications Officer. Iga Lawne, Community Tourism Officer, Donegal County Council. Aideen Tighe, Marketing Department, Donegal County Council Culture Division.